Drop the Call: THP says grace period for ‘Hands Free Tennessee’ law is over
The highway patrol is warning drivers in its latest social media campaign that the two month grace period for the new ‘Hands Free Tennessee’ law is over.
That means motorists will no longer get a warning if they are seen holding a phone while driving. Troopers promise to strictly enforce the hands-free statute during the Labor Day Weekend. Penalties include a $50 fine for first-time offense, a $100 ticket for causing a crash and fines of up to $200 if you’re caught holding a phone while inside a school or construction zone.